Cinder – Wallpaper for the Soul…

Christmas is but a few days away and very much like Christmas, I too have decided to make an end-of-year appearance.

I haven’t been around much this year, despite the very best of intentions. Indeed, the posts I wrote for ‘Cinder’, brief as they were, had been written a month in advance and scheduled for publication.

Last year (or was it the beginning of this one?), I laid out my plans for 2016. I won’t be doing that again. I’ve forgotten the last time I looked back at a year a given it the thumbs up, but this one was not as bad as some. It was a year where the mundane took command of the wheel and writing slumped into the backseat (with headphones on) and counted the number of fences it could jump as the year flashed by the window.

As the New Year struggles through customs with an overzealous official, I will head back into the rising sun with my suitcase full of good intentions. This time, however, I’ll offer them up for sacrifice and focus solely upon finishing ‘Glade’.

Yes, I’m still working on it. There are no timelines or deadlines anymore, but I would very much like to be looking at covers before 2017 pops its clogs.

Before I go and grab my glass of mulled wine, I would like to thank those that have stuck around and offered their continued support despite my absence. Cheers. In particular, I would like to thank fellow author and award-winning poet, CW Hawes, for the occasional mention here and there throughout the year. Much appreciated.

If you are not familiar with his work, CW Hawes is the prolific author of a number of books and genres from the ongoing ‘Rocheport Saga’ to the adventures of ‘Justina Wright, P.I.’ amongst others. I can heartily recommend the sextet of books written to date within the ‘Rocheport Saga’. For anyone that enjoys a post-apocalyptic setting (with a focus upon survival rather than the commonplace fare of zombie avoidance), then this is well-worth your time.

And so, without further ado (my wine is getting cold), I present to you a simple Christmas offering. Now, despite alternative suggestions from my old friends, Messrs Snuffle and Snaggle (suggestions which involved the use of blindfolds and pitchforks…), I have decided to give you all some free wallpaper inspired by the short story, ‘Cinder’.

It’s not seasonal and there are no ribbons, but it is rather nice on the eye.

Merry Christmas and all that… oh, and cheers!


 

1920×1200
1920×1080
1600×1200
1376×768
1366×768
1280×1024

 


CINDER is available at Amazon, iBooks, Kobo, and Barnes & Noble
9 thoughts on “Cinder – Wallpaper for the Soul…

  1. Happy Holidays, Crispian! I hope to see you more in the New Year… but then again, I hope to see more of myself, as well. :P 2016 has been a very hard year for me, even with all my optimism and determination. Hopefully the seeds planted this year sprout (or even bud) in 2017. Where are you abouts now?

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Merry Christmas to you, too, Ariel!

      It has been one of those years, hasn’t it? I’ve seen your own posts, but just never seem to find the time to leave a reply. Hopefully, next year is a better one for writing in general!

      I’m currently back in Spain for the winter, but will be heading back to Japan in January. All the very best for the new year and good luck with the studies.

      Cheers!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for your kind words, good sir! May prosperity come to you soon in the new year so you can get back to writing! And may good health and tranquility also prevail!

    A very merry Christmas to you!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Have a nice festive seanos and especially a very happy new year, Crispian.
    2016 was a very tough year, on so many levels (including some personal ones). I won’t be sorry to see it go. I really really hope 2017 will be more generous with everyone.
    And thanks for your gift. Those wallpapers are beautiful!!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You’re most welcome, Sarah.

      Indeed, this year will not be missed. The promise, or perhaps tease, of good things to come has been glimpsed, albeit from afar, yet I continue to remain dubious as to their veracity.

      Nevertheless, I wish you all the very best for the year ahead. May it be an auspicious one.

      Cheers!

      Like

Be brave... leave a Reply

