25 Great Facts about Children’s Books

Interesting Literature

Fascinating trivia about classic children’s books and their authors

Hans Christian Andersen once stayed at Dickens’s house for five weeks; when he eventually left, Dickens wrote on the mirror in the guestroom: ‘Hans Andersen slept in this room for five weeks — which seemed to the family AGES!’

Contrary to popular belief, the girls’ name Wendy existed before J. M. Barrie wrote Peter Pan.

In 2006, the writer of the Babar the Elephant books released a book called Babar’s Yoga for Elephants. It has sold 100,000 copies.

Anna Sewell’s novel Black Beautyis described on its title-page as ‘translated from the equine’.

Hans Christian AndersenThe author of The Hunger Games, Suzanne Collins, was one of the writers on the 1990s children’s TV show Clarissa Explains It All.

When J. R. R. Tolkien’s son enlisted in the army, he described his writer father’s occupation as ‘wizard’.

Lewis destroyed…

View original post 451 more words

6 thoughts on “25 Great Facts about Children’s Books

    1. I’ve never picked up a book and thought that I was too old (or too young) to read it. If the story interests me then I will read it.

      I said once that many of my favourite authors are all dead. Many of them are listed in the article above. Indeed, many of them have inspired me to write the stories that I do. I loved Beatrix Potter’s work along with those written by Enid Blyton and C.S. Lewis. It is inspiring to know that he destroyed the first version of his book and then rewrote it entirely.

      I have fond memories of hunting through my grandfather’s old wardrobe and discovering hidden mysteries at the bottom of the garden. Enchanting times that live with you no matter how old you are.

      Like

      1. There has been a time where I would read more kid’s stories than adult ones. I too don’t have a problem with it.
        While writing children’s story is a completely different business than writing adult stories, reading them may be as entertaining as adult stories. Sometimes even more.

        This said, it has been a long time since last I read one :-(

        Like

Be brave... leave a Reply

